Slow Cooker = Quick Dinner

Standard

I love my slow cooker. I am on my second crock pot, and I don’t like this one as much as my last cooker, but it is still the best way to cook. Monday I put a frozen whole chicken in the crock pot. I added carrots, onion, celery, water and seasonings (bullion cubes, salt, pepper, garlic salt) and let it go. At dinner time I put the meat thermometer in to make sure the chicken cooked and it was 190 degrees, so it was cooked completely. I did make sure I put enough water in the pot to almost cover the chicken.

At dinner time, I fished out the vegetables and put them in a bowl and pulled out the chicken. Vegetables, pulled chicken, crusty bread and Rice A Roni made meal. There was left over chicken, so I used that for Tuesday’s dinner of Crock Pot White Chicken Chili and there was a beautiful broth that I will freeze in ice cube trays for future chicken stock needs.

I will tell you, I am not much of a cook, but this makes it easy. We can eat chili at least two days, so one $4 whole chicken means three nights of dinner and broth which I can use for soups later. Yum!

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Manic Monday « Elizabeth's Finds

Leave a Reply

