DIY Cream of Chicken Soup

Standard

As I put together my master cooking planner I realized a lot of my recipes involve a can of cream of chicken or mushroom soup. A LOT! Don’t get me wrong, I love any cream casserole, but the can mix is high in sodium and other bad things. I saw all these recipes to make it yourself on Pinterest. After procrastinating long enough, I finally did it last week.

The soup mix was really easy to make. It probably took five minutes to trow together, which made me feel ridiculous for putting it off for so long.  I finally made something that needed soup last night, so I whipped up some of the new mix. I have a super-easy Beef Stroganoff that only consists of one can of chicken soup (or my fancy new mix), a chopped onion and stew meat from the grocery store. After cooking in a crock pot all day, you throw in about a cup of sour cream, some nutmeg and cooked egg noodles. Voila – dinner is served and delicious.

Honestly, I could taste a difference. I could taste the dry milk from the recipe. My husband and daughter couldn’t tell a difference and ate more than usual. Little Bit didn’t even complain about it at all, which is rare these days. Because I could taste the milk I threw in pepper and a little garlic salt. I will definitely make the mix again.

Here is a link to the mix I used from Taste Of Home.  You need to purchase or have on hand corn starch, dry milk, chicken bouillon granules, onion powder, thyme, basil and pepper. When you need a can of soup, you add water and cook it on the stove until it thickens.

Leave a Reply

