Summer Trunks

Summer is right around the corner. We had a few days in the 80’s, so out come the shorts and flip-flops. If I have learned anything over the last ten years of parenting it is that I am never fully prepared for what summer brings. Because of that, there are certain things I keep in my car all summer long.

sunscreen

The first thing is sunscreen. You never know when you will decide to be out in the sun or forget your sunscreen. I keep last year’s bottle that is not expired, but it isn’t my brand new bottle for the pool. Think of this as your emergency back up. If you know you are going to be out in the sun all day you come prepared. Speaking of sunscreen, I always write the expiration date in big letters with a sharpie the day I buy it. It seems like after a summer’s worth of grease and grit that ink disappears.

SONY DSC

The second thing in my car is a t-shirt for each kid, a pair of shorts, underware and a pair of cheap flip-flops. Some years I have also added an old swimsuit. Even if it doesn’t fit perfectly, it can still be worn under a t-shirt. Seems like often we find sprinklers, splash pads, creeks or some other water supply while we are out and about. If you have clothes in the car, you can always enjoy those fun watertunities as they arise.

towel

The third thing I keep in the car during the summer is cheap towels. They can be old towels from your house or from the $1 section at Target. The towels don’t have to be nice and pretty, but often you want to sit down at the park, need a buffer between you and the sidewalk at a concert or just to use as a towel for drying off. We often use the towels to cover seat belt buckles and car seats from the hot summer sun.

johnsonjohnson-mini-first-aid-kit-first-aid-to-go_1002_image

Next I keep a mini-first aid kit. Band aids, neosporin, hydrocortozone creme, tweezers, and maybe a needle or a safety-pin cover most summer accidents. I also keep chewable allergy relief pills from Target and some chewable Tylenol. The allergy pills work for any reaction to grasses, pollen or stings. The Tylenol helps if there is pain from an injury. I tend to keep these in my purse instead of the car, but they are good things to have with you.

SWW025

Lastly I try and keep sunglasses and a hat for each family member in the car. These are great for time outside or those days that the sun is bright and hurts your eyes. It seems like no one in my house keeps up with them and always ask for a pair.

I have heard if you have sandboxes or live near the beach baby powder is a lifesaver.  You can apply it to skin and it will dust off the sand keeping it out of the car. One of my friends makes all their kids take a water bottle every where all summer so they don’t buy drinks out all the time. Do you have any other summer trunk requirements?

Leave a Reply

