Delusions of Resolutions

Standard

DSC_0210

So it is January 1st once again. I have all these delusions of grandeur and resolutions. I want to get healthy. I want to get closer to God. I want to get organized. I want to get my house cleaned. I want to catch up on my scrapbooking. I want to cook new things. I want to travel. You know, all the typical ones. There is nothing wrong with any of those resolutions, but I’ve made them all before. While January is a time of new pages and new choices, it might not be the best time to try to make changes.

Diet and health are difficult because it is cold. It is hard to exercise when it is freezing outside. Yes, it is always hard to motivate yourself to exercise, but a warm bed and twenty degrees aren’t a good combination. As for dieting, my house still has tons of Christmas goodies around. I’ve tried to rid the house of most of them, but when kids are home they want junk. Other things are hard because moms have kids at home until at least the 6th of January.  Excuses, excuses.

In 2014, I am going to make one month goals. Surely I can stick with something a month. If it doesn’t work in January, there is always February – and it is an even shorter month! My January goal is to incorporate more vegetables in our diet. That might require getting healthy and cooking new things. Let me know if you have any favorite vegetable recipes that kids and husbands will tolerate.

As for scrapbooking, 5th grade is the end of elementary school. I am going to have to get some pictures together for the school video, so I might as well print those out while I am gathering.  Surely I can just commit to one day a month or heck one whole week to do 2013 – start with yesterday and go back. That is much less overwhelming than trying to do 2003.

Do you still make resolutions? Are the helpful or hurtful for your self-esteem?

This year I will start with a day. Today I will try and get in my 10,000 steps on my Fitbit. I will try and not eat anything horrible and delicious – vegetable soup anyone? I will try and do a devotion. I will get one room cleaned, the bathroom downstairs is really small. And most importantly, I will spend the day with my family and not beating up on myself for what I don’t accomplish today.

Leave a Reply

