Allspice and Nutmeg?

I saw a story on Facebook that said Allspice was from the Pimento family. I had never heard that before. I assumed it was true, but I wanted to check it out, so I did a little research. The scientific name is Pimenta dioica. If you don’t have any Allspice one substitute is a mix of cinnamon, gloves and nutmeg. You can find a recipe here.

Image from savoryspiceshop.com.

Image from savoryspiceshop.com.

That led me to wonder what the heck is nutmeg. Nutmeg is a seed from Myristica fragrant . It is an evergreen tree located in the  Spice Islands of Indonesia.
It is also known as Pala in Indonesian cooking. The spice Mace also comes from this same tree nut. Here is a list of things you can use to replace nutmeg if you need a replacement.

Image from organicfacts.net.

Image from organicfacts.net

Leave a comment