Spring is coming

Forsythia says it is almost Spring to me. It has been cold and grey here for days. I am just dreaming of Spring. This simple arrangement from House of Fifty. I think that is one of the best aspects about forsythia. You just stick a bunch of stems in a vase and call it an arrangement.

forsythia1

 

Another great thing about forsythia is that you can easily force it to bloom inside. Here are some tips to make that work from skiptomylou.com.

forsythia2

Forsythia are also deer resistant. I mean deer can eat anything, but they typically don’t like forsythia. Find other deer resistant plants here from meadowsfarms.com.

deer2

 

I grew up with a forsythia hedge as a property divider. I loved everything about it except that the branches made great switches. Boy that was a different time.

 

Leave a comment